Weight among elite players

Tylerbob

Verified Member
From
Chandler Texas
This is my first attempt at a new thread, so please be gentle. A saw a post recently where a top player wanted 8-7 in a match against Tony Chohan. That got me wondering about how much of a factor one ball would be in a long match between two top players, like the upcoming match between Corey and Danny.

It seems to me that modern elite players rarely get to the old school end game, fighting over the last ball on the table. The run out game dominates. I am thinking that it might make a difference in 2 or 3 games in a race to 30 (maybe 50 total games) between two elite players. Am I somewhere close?

unoperro

Verified Member
If they are playing long enough the psychological may come into effect.
Giving weight realizes he should be playing even.
Or getting weight figures i cant beat this go without more weight.
Or the weight can make either more confident.

Think Frost was in a video match and said hell I am so used to going to 12,13,15 ,or whatever that only going to 8 feels like a spot!

Good first post. Guys can be a little rough. Just remember if it feels like they are using chunky peanutbutter for lube, at least they cared enough to lube

Last edited:

gulfportdoc

Verified Member
From
Gulfport, Mississippi
Good question, Tylerbob. I've often wondered about that myself.

I'm hoping that Cardone jumps in here with his insights. My guess is that it's mostly psychological, as Unopero suggested. It also may be an enticement. One guy may not believe he'd have a chance against one of the heavy-hitters, but with a small spot, he might figure he could beat him.

~Doc

El Chapo

Verified Member