Interesting situation

sheldon

Verified Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
145
You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!

 

Dennis "Whitey" Young

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
2,294
No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
 
Last edited:

crabbcatjohn

Verified Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
3,191
No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
A yuppie call?....lol
 

Cory in dc

Verified Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
1,623
No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
I can't imagine any opinion other than this one.
 

Bmoretallpaul

Verified Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2018
Messages
149
You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!

What pro player would even believe the two was frozen. The three is contacting the rail period. That's the only ball frozen. Maybe someone was trying to get over. You know how those nine ball players can be lol.
 

Island Drive

Verified Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
4,495
You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!

Who are THEY?
 

Dennis "Whitey" Young

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
2,294
https://photos.app.goo.gl/nzuCm8L6Z5CnAsAk8
The video does not do the shot justice, for the ob does not look angled enough upon the ball frozen to the rail, but it is!

I was shocked to see this layout, for this is the exact 'Squeeze Bank' that I discovered back when I was 18, in '69. I just set it up different to be made in the corner pocket for this is OP. 2 in the side, all day! I believe it is set up on a pretty steep angle, but hit it very thin, and I believe it will go!

This shot never came up even once during my matches, just one time in practice and I figured it out. But here it is!

For those that do not know what I am referring to then go to 'Squeeze Bank' pg. 2 Bank Forum. There is also a slight variation 'great shot' that Steve makes that is video represented.

Try this shot in the side, you'll like it! Whitey
 
Last edited:

baby huey

Verified Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,577
This question is unbelievable. How can a ball be frozen to the rail if it isn't touching a rail?
 

unoperro

Verified Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
1,690
All I can add is...
Some rules did say a ball frozen to a rail , and touching that ball is the same as hitting the rail???
 

LSJohn

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
8,343
That would be the end of announcing a frozen ball . . . .?
Excuse me, Bill, but do you really have time to comment on these extraneous issues with Cherie fighting for her freedom with only a chocolate donut to sustain her?
 

gulfportdoc

Verified Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
10,313
Excuse me, Bill, but do you really have time to comment on these extraneous issues with Cherie fighting for her freedom with only a chocolate donut to sustain her?
:D:lol:D Nah, he's just coming up for air...
 

Jim McCary

Verified Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
45
This just goes to prove that one pocket players are smarter than 9-ball players.

Jim Mc
 

Patrick Johnson

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
1,447
That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.
If the 3 leaves the rail and gets kissed back to the same rail (say, by the CB after hitting the 2), is that a legal hit? It is in some rules (I like it that way).

pj
chgo
 

Dennis "Whitey" Young

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
2,294
If the 3 leaves the rail and gets kissed back to the same rail (say, by the CB after hitting the 2), is that a legal hit? It is in some rules (I like it that way).

pj
chgo
Yes, it is a legal shot. When the ob used to create a legal shot is frozen to the rail then that rail is not alive for that ball, but if that ob leaves the rail and contacts another ball and then re-contacts the rail it was once frozen to then it is a legal shot. Whitey
 
Top