strategy

mohrt

Verified Member
From
Lincoln NE
I'm fairly new at one pocket trying to absorb as much info as possible. I was discussing the game with a very seasoned 8-ball/9-ball player that is all self-taught, including the game of one-pocket. Here was his one-line explanation of the strategy of one-pocket:

"One pocket is a race to get the last ball up-table." So what he's saying, you are both battling to move the balls away from the foot of the table, and if you are the person to move the last ball up there, you are in an advantageous position.

Now I know the game is far more complex than just that, but what are your thoughts on this strategy? Or is this just one style of play, or typical early-game play? Or?

Fast Lenny

Verified Member
From
Arizona & OCNY
I'm fairly new at one pocket trying to absorb as much info as possible. I was discussing the game with a very seasoned 8-ball/9-ball player that is all self-taught, including the game of one-pocket. Here was his one-line explanation of the strategy of one-pocket:

"One pocket is a race to get the last ball up-table." So what he's saying, you are both battling to move the balls away from the foot of the table, and if you are the person to move the last ball up there, you are in an advantageous position.

Now I know the game is far more complex than just that, but what are your thoughts on this strategy? Or is this just one style of play, or typical early-game play? Or?
One pocket to me is moving until you get the first good shot at your hole and when you do make the most of it.

Frank Almanza

Verified Member
From
Upland, California
Well you've come to the right spot to get some answers. I'm not sure about the strategy given to you but it goes against my opinion. Unless they have a double meaning to what they're saying.