Mental Lapses

MGM Tony

Warning: Long post, tl;dr at the bottom if you don't want to sift through this.

Hello everyone,

I started playing pool again about a month ago, I've been putting in at least forty hours every week. I had a championship Snooker table when I was a kid that I played on everyday but I took about three years off for personal reasons. I've gotten my play and abilities back to where I now play a little above and think far above where I used to be. I dedicate almost all my free time to pool and I recently developed a love for one pocket. It's a fantastic game.

I live in Michigan just a hairbreadth outside of Detroit, so there is no lack of pool around here. One of the pool halls near my condo has small tournaments throughout the week and I play every single one of them that I can. There is a lot of talent around here. Sometimes I go over to Ron Wiseman's stomping ground and watch him play some nights. There is always a big money one pocket game around here.

Back to the point, these little tournaments (start at 7ish end around 12 or 1 depending on the number of players) that I play in, I come to find out that I have terrible mental lapses. I am a certified choke artist. If you didn't know better you'd think I was throwing the game. I blow easy game winning shots, or I give up easy three ball run-outs. I don't have a problem with execution normally, I practice at every available opportunity. When I gamble, I don't miss these shots but for some reason, whenever I play these tournaments, something doesn't click. I don't know why.