the ball should have been respotted since it hung for i assume more than 5 secondsHi all,
I shot a ball and it hung in the pocket. I owed a ball, so I spotted one. The hung balk fell in my pocket when the ball spotted. What usually happens here? Does it go back, count or spot as well?
based on our rules posted above the ball made for the opponent would stay down and count for him.What about my opp has a ball setting in his hole is bloc by two balls. You shoot hard and the ball goes in his pocket and the other two balls jump off the table. Does the ball pocketed come up with the two that went of the table and one of my balls? The cue ball stayed on the table.
I agree that is how they are written. In olden days an object ball off the table wasn't a foul but it has been for quite a while in tournament play. In anycase, like you already said, the only time the opponent's ball comes back up and is not counted is either a pocket scratch or cue ball jumped off the table. For other fouls it stays down.based on our rules posted above the ball made for the opponent would stay down and count for him.
you would need to spot the 2 balls off the table and one of your own for the foul.
thats how i understand our rules
It doesn't matter, near or far, the only two things that can bring a ball back to be spotted (that you make in your opponent's pocket) is either a pocket scratch or cue ball off the table -- any other foul the ball stays down for your opponent.what happens if an object ball leaves the table, but was not near a pocket, or a players pocket at least?
General rule I always heard that keeps things simple is that "No One can score on a foul".