Mr wood

youngstownkid

Verified Member
While working at Ponderosa Steakhouse, I learned that a manager there was very talented at woodworking. Soon, I would find out just how skilled he was. He had redone much of the railings and other work work in the store. After talking with him about woodworking in more detail, I asked him to make a cue case for my Mali cue. He made a simple routed out bottom, and used hidden barrel hinges to faster the lid to it. The bottom was made out of black walnut, and the top was made of a very nice piece of Curly maple. The first time he closed it, he couldn't open it back up, because it was vacuum sealed shut!

When I graduated from college my girlfriend bought me a pretty cool graduation present. A new cue, that I got to pick out. We went to the Billiard Emporium and there was a nice looking black and white cue that caught my eye. (This was 15 years ago and to this day it is my only playing cue. How sentimental, eh? Or maybe I'm afraid of my wife's reaction if to me buying a new one!)

I immediately started working at a software shop as an engineer, but I kept in contact with Mr Wood. (This was my girlfriend's nickname for him because he loved to passionately wind up about the subject of woodworking.) I regretfully explained how I sold my previous cue and custom case (that he made) to the assistant pro at the local golf course that I worked at the previous few years.

I had a new cue that needs a case. Keep in mind that this was before I understood the impracticality of having such a case made out of wood. Not to mention building such a thing for a cue that is shamed by more expensive custom cues. But I was right out of college and still quite broke.