LeCue Club 1967

Ross Keith Thompson

Verified Member
From
madisonville, texas
It was my first trip to LeCue club in downtown Houston in 1967. I was 14 years old and had no idea a place like that existed, 40 tables or so all being Gold Crowns.

Also had a snooker table or 2 and three cushion billiards along with a bar table.

LeCue would be my home the next four years where I learned pocket billiards at an accelerated rate that probably has no comparison.

Probably wouldn’t have won Johnston City if I hadn’t grown up their. I got a masters degree in pocket billiards in four years from jersey red, Greg stevens, Danny Jones, “Duke”, Rodney stevens, Tall Jeff and many more great teachers that never knew that I was watching and listening!

All these great players were performing every weekend in one of or the best action spots in the country.

LeCue Club had the greatest show on turf every weekend and a young kid with a wild desire to play was right in the middle of this show!
For a time this Club may not have had an equal in the late 60’s.

BrookelandBilly

Verified Member
From
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
It was my first trip to LeCue club in downtown Houston in 1967. I was 14 years old and had no idea a place like that existed, 40 tables or so all being Gold Crowns.

Also had a snooker table or 2 and three cushion billiards along with a bar table.

LeCue would be my home the next four years where I learned pocket billiards at an accelerated rate that probably has no comparison.

Probably wouldn’t have won Johnston City if I hadn’t grown up their. I got a masters degree in pocket billiards in four years from jersey red, Greg stevens, Danny Jones, “Duke”, Rodney stevens, Tall Jeff and many more great teachers that never knew that I was watching and listening!

All these great players were performing every weekend in one of or the best action spots in the country.