Early Days - The Cellar

youngstown

Verified Member
My dad was laid off for about a year and a half at one point in 1978, the year before I was born. He had either just bought a pool table before he got laid off, or he bought it soon after, to help pass the time. It was nothing special and he bought the cheapest cues he could fine at a discount store or sports store. He and my two uncles, who both lived next door (they all built houses on family land) played a lot of pool while he was laid off.

The following are the earliest memories that I can remember when I started playing.

It just wasn't possible to draw the cue ball. In fact it was very difficult to not miscue. Never mind the fact that I didn't know that drawing the cue ball was even a thing, or the fact that I didn't have any fundamentals or teaching, by anyone who was remotely qualified. But the tips on the cues were just so bad. My dad had a tip kit with a strange looking contraption to hold the tip in place, he kept it in an old cigar box, with the oldest and cheapest tips that someone probably gave to him for free. If a cue slipped out of our hand and fell it was nearly a sure thing the tip would come off when it hits the cement floor of the basement. I remember they were always nearly perfectly square, that is, we never bothered to round them at all. I tried to do my own tip several times, but never got the knack for it.

There was a large yellow stain in the green felt from when I was in diapers (cloth diapers, of course) and let go of a full bladder. So in other words, the table still had the original cloth from 1978.