who were/are your one pocket heroes?

Ratamon

Verified Member
From
London, UK
It's Buddy Hall for me for sure. His smooth stroking the balls is absolutely hypnotising. He doesn't shoot pool, he paints with balls and conducts with his cue! The best cue ball whisperer to boot. I fell in love with the game when I first saw his match against Steve Dobrowolski from 1994 Roanoke.

baby huey

Verified Member
I was so impresssed with Cliff Joyner when I played him about a dozen years ago. He wasn't the best ball striker, banker or ball runner. But he had tenacity and never gave up in any game even if he owed ten balls and you were on the hill. He we so long winded both in phisicality and intellectual function that he just wore you out and broke you down. There are many here that have posted Artie as the best they ever saw and maybe so but Cliff in his prime was a force to be reconed with.

lfigueroa

Verified Member
Many of you know lfigueroa on this board.

I started playing against Lou when I was 14. I am 42 now. To the extent I ever do anything good playing one pocket (or even pool generally), a lot of credit has to go to Lou's willingness to share some of his knowledge with me. Lou has always threatened to write a book. If he does write a book and I know it is available for purchase, I would enthusiastically be the first to purchase one. After 25 years of friendly competition, I believe Lou is even more knowledgeable than even his biggest fans realize.

Over the years, he has shared with me extremely astute observations of other players' games and other ideas that I think hint at a creative and unique understanding of pool. Were he to share more with all of us, I think we would all be made better or it.