Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2019, 09:08 AM
chicagomike chicagomike is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,268
Default Foul or no foul?

James Leone of Buffaloís posted a short video on FB which I donít know how to load to this thread. Danny S. is playing Evan L. and Danny shoots a ball with the CB hopping onto and remaining on top of a rail. Danny apparently said Evan had to play it from on top of the rail. Is the CB played from where it sits or is it a foul with ball in hand from the kitchen? Is the felted part of the top of rail considered playing surface of the table?

I would consider it a foul for leaving and remaining off the playing surface, but Iím unsure that Iím correct. What say you???
__________________
Live long and play strong,
-Chicagomike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2019, 09:20 AM
cincy_kid's Avatar
cincy_kid cincy_kid is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 4,011
Default

That would be a foul to me too Mike (unless previously discussed and agreed among the players to do otherwise).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2019, 10:37 AM
crabbcatjohn crabbcatjohn is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Benton, Ky.
Posts: 2,340
Default

Foul. Ball is no longer on the playing surface
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2019, 11:27 AM
12squared 12squared is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crabbcatjohn View Post
Foul. Ball is no longer on the playing surface
^^^^ this ^^^
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:18 PM
jerry matchin jerry matchin is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,250
Default

Its not on play but I have an observation. Any table measurement is from all the green you can see. So where the feather stripping is is felt and that is included in any table measurement so if its part of a table measurement then why isn't it considered playing surface?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2019, 12:41 PM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,108
Default

Yes, I agree! If the ball or cb jumps and remains upon the rail, it is a foul, but if it returns to the playing surface it is not a foul, unless it contacts something other than the table itself. Such as: chalk, cue, player, light fixture, and so forth.
We've seen shots whereas the cb is pretty straight on with ob just off the end rail, and there is no real angle to work with, so they stroke down on the cb to make it hop upon the rail and then roll off for shape.
But this brings up something quite interesting, and that is just plain simple chalk. If the ball jumped contacts a piece of chalk it is a foul even though it comes back onto the playing surface.
So this brings me to proper etiquette of pool. It is and has always been proper etiquette to remove your chalk when your inning is over. A decade ago in watching pro's they would remove their chalk, and even if they forgot they would use an opportune time to retrieve it as to courteously not to interfere with the player shooting. Some players are alright with additional chalk on the table and some are not. But now days this etiquette is all but forgot and is considerably abused.

An interesting note; the old original rule of a ball being jumped off the table is that if it hit the light fixture and returned to the table it was not a foul, and that is why now days the rule specifically mentions that contacting the light fixture is a foul. The original rule is how OP was played during it's Jansco Johnston City origins, and I believe it should be played that way today. For a light fixture is different than a chalk, a cue or a player for these are obstructions that the players created, a light fixture is not! Whitey

Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 06-12-2019 at 04:46 PM. Reason: wanted to stay more on point!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2019, 05:57 PM
Hardmix Hardmix is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cumming Ga
Posts: 697
Default

I am fairly certain Evan picked the CB up and told Danny to spot one up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2019, 08:39 PM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 14,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagomike View Post
James Leone of Buffalo’s posted a short video on FB which I don’t know how to load to this thread. Danny S. is playing Evan L. and Danny shoots a ball with the CB hopping onto and remaining on top of a rail. Danny apparently said Evan had to play it from on top of the rail. Is the CB played from where it sits or is it a foul with ball in hand from the kitchen? Is the felted part of the top of rail considered playing surface of the table?

I would consider it a foul for leaving and remaining off the playing surface, but I’m unsure that I’m correct. What say you???
its a foul
here is why imho
if the cue ball is "sitting " on the rail
since the clothed part of the rail is beveled
the cue ball HAS to be touching the non felt part of the rail
which in no way can be considered part of the "playing surface"
also fwiw
the playing surface is where the balls roll
ie with in the nose of the rails
jmho
icbw
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2019, 12:05 AM
youngstownkid's Avatar
youngstownkid youngstownkid is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,378
Default Foul or no foul?

Danny just said that in jest Iím sure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2019, 07:30 AM
Island Drive's Avatar
Island Drive Island Drive is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: florence, colorado
Posts: 3,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicagomike View Post
James Leone of Buffaloís posted a short video on FB which I donít know how to load to this thread. Danny S. is playing Evan L. and Danny shoots a ball with the CB hopping onto and remaining on top of a rail. Danny apparently said Evan had to play it from on top of the rail. Is the CB played from where it sits or is it a foul with ball in hand from the kitchen? Is the felted part of the top of rail considered playing surface of the table?

I would consider it a foul for leaving and remaining off the playing surface, but Iím unsure that Iím correct. What say you???
Mike you chose the proper term.

We're not playing golf, where your able to climb a tree and hit from where the ball is lodged.

Only time I've ever seen a ball on the top rail count was from an Old Accustats video of Bloopers, it's a great video.

Ron Rosas banked a ball long rail, it bounced ''all the way'' down the long rail, hit the side pocket lip, jumped over it, kept rolling and then went in the corner pocket.
__________________
Bill Meacham
WBT
www.worldbilliardtour.com
no link....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.