Improvement

chicagomike

Verified Member
Any recommendations on how to improve your game, videos, lessons etc

I started learning the most when I started watching old accustats tapes with proper commentary. Best commentators included Billy Incardona, Danny Diliberto, Jeremy Jones, Freddy Bentivega(Freddy the Beard), Grady Matthews. There are others, but those are a few of my top picks.

hankh

Verified Member
From
Arrey, N.M.
Bmoretallpaul, Howdy;

I've been trying to improve my banking and have tapped into the collective.
What it all comes down to is pick an area you want to improve and start
focusing on it. Find or ask for some drills that others use that may flip the
switch but the best thing is getting some table time to practice and do the drills.

hank

Billy Jackets

Verified Member

To improve you have to put the time in on the table, simple as that.
Find some pocketing drills , banking drills , kicking drills , speed drills and go get on a table with no distractions for at least 2 hours a day 6 days a week.
If you don't see marked improvement in 1 month , take up another hobby.

johnnytronic

Verified Member

Drills, drills, drills...
You have to practice as perfect as you can, like every ball of that drill is your hill ball. I see most guys practicing and they just bang them around. IME you can actually go backwards with that method.

Knowing what you can execute vs what you wished you can execute...Tame the ego in that area.

Don't just play onepocket, it will hurt your stroke over time. I'm not exactly sure what the ratio of one pocket vs rotation that needs to be played but I can say my ball pocket-ability and confidence stepped up noticeably after spending time playing 9ball and 8ball tournaments.

Practice pocket speed banks and hard banks back to back. Sometimes if you want to run more than a ball you are going to have to bank the ball very hard. IF you spend too much time only banking at pocket speed you won't have the confidence banking hard.