Rule on short count handicap

desert1pocket

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
20
If you are in a short count hadicapped game such as 8-7, and each player only needs one ball, what happens if a player is to make a ball in each scoring pocket during the same shot? In other words the shooter makes the winning ball for both players at the same time. This has happened numerous times in my pool hall, and often disputes arrise. I would consider the game a draw, but I have heard the argument that it depends on which ball falls first. I am curious how this is handled in other parts of the country.
 

sappo

Verified Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
1,110
In that case the shooting player wins the game!!!
 

NH Steve

Administrator
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
8,760
This is the word from the OnePocket.org 'Offical Rules':

3.2 In the event that a player pockets both their own game winning ball, and their opponent’s game winning ball, both on the same legal stroke, then the shooting player wins. There are no ‘ties’, and it does not matter which ball drops first, as long as they both drop as a result of the same stroke.
 
Top