Re:Fouls question

SactownTom

Moderator
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
813
Not sure how this can be better worded.

From OnePocket.org rules http://www.onepocket.org/one_pocket_pool_rules.htm

6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. Shooter owes a ball for a foul

All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty.

Any ball(s) made in the opponent's pocket are spotted
Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted.

Cue ball in pocket or off table after shot is a foul, balls made (any pocket) are spotted, Cue ball is BIH behind the line.


However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.
 
Last edited:

LSJohn

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
7,626
Yes. Here is a pertinent section of the WPA rules, to which the 1p.o rules defer when an issue is not covered there:

6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct

The normal penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct is the same as for a serious foul, but the referee may impose a penalty depending on his judgment of the conduct. Among other penalties possible are a warning; a standard-foul penalty, which will count as part of a three-foul sequence if applicable; a serious-foul penalty; loss of a rack, set or match; ejection from the competition possibly with forfeiture of all prizes, trophies and standings points.
Unsportsmanlike conduct is any intentional behavior that brings disrepute to the sport or which disrupts or changes the game to the extent that it cannot be played fairly. It includes
(a) distracting the opponent;
(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot;
(c) playing a shot by intentionally miscuing;
(d) continuing to play after a foul has been called or play has been suspended;
(e) practicing during a match;
(f) marking the table;
(g) delay of the game; and
(h) using equipment inappropriately.
Thanks, Doc.

Intentional miscue? I wouldn't have ever guessed that was considered "unsportsmanlike."
 

baby huey

Verified Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Messages
1,308
This rule is probably like the ball hanging in the jaws for more than 5 seconds. If over 5 seconds it comes back up and less then its spotted. Only one ball should be spotted if the cue ball was not part of the foul. If it was then two balls should come up. The cue ball being struck twice is a different rule. If unintentional then a scratch if intentional then it's a serious argument about to in-sue. To me this is some serious un-sports men like conduct. I would not play anyone who did this act.
 

androd

Verified Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
7,132
This rule is probably like the ball hanging in the jaws for more than 5 seconds. If over 5 seconds it comes back up and less then its spotted. Only one ball should be spotted if the cue ball was not part of the foul. If it was then two balls should come up. The cue ball being struck twice is a different rule. If unintentional then a scratch if intentional then it's a serious argument about to in-sue. To me this is some serious un-sports men like conduct. I would not play anyone who did this act.
Everyone agreed it was an accident.
 

beatle

Verified Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
2,139
even a guy who did that who you have way the best of the game, and were playing for decent money? just tell him that doesnt work and put the balls back where they were and have him shoot.

thats better than losing a good customer. people do funny things even ones that arent trying to screw you but just dont think.
 

Jeff sparks

Verified Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
2,928
Here's another one that happened yesterday.

My opponent was shooting a stretch shot, partially sitting on the table with his left side buttock and his right foot in contact with the floor. Perfectly legal where I play.
However as he stroked the shot, his right foot lost contact with the floor and he was completely ungrounded.

I didn't call anything on him, as we were just playing for a sawbuck, but isn't that considered a foul?
 

pvclou

Verified Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
178
Re:Fouls question

Re:Fouls question

Here's another one that happened yesterday.

My opponent was shooting a stretch shot, partially sitting on the table with his left side buttock and his right foot in contact with the floor. Perfectly legal where I play.
However as he stroked the shot, his right foot lost contact with the floor and he was completely ungrounded.

I didn't call anything on him, as we were just playing for a sawbuck, but isn't that considered a foul?

You're a tough customer, Jeff. 😅


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

LSJohn

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
7,626
Here's another one that happened yesterday.

My opponent was shooting a stretch shot, partially sitting on the table with his left side buttock and his right foot in contact with the floor. Perfectly legal where I play.
However as he stroked the shot, his right foot lost contact with the floor and he was completely ungrounded.

I didn't call anything on him, as we were just playing for a sawbuck, but isn't that considered a foul?
Heh.

Danny DiLiberto says it's a foul if your foot comes off the floor at any time while you're setting up for the shot.
 
Top