Interesting rule question

suki

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
328
I cannot say I have ever heard of this happening but anything is possible.
Two guys are playing. A shooter fouls on the break. Later he hangs a ball
and his opponent pockets that ball, then they forget to spot it. Then the person who scratched makes another ball then bingo, remembers he owed one. Do you still go by rule 9.4 and still spot it after your opponents inning or do u spot it right away because a ball is already down. A friend of mine seems to to think because a ball was down already and you could pay it backk you do it right away. I tend to disagree. Still wait.
I must admit I have never had this ever happen.
Of course what does happen when I play with my practice patner, Kenny Crenshaw he always pretends he does not have a coin to use to mark a scratch and nor do I, so for fun we try to remember. We forget a lot so we bring it up later in game say like when score is 5-5. We wait two innings then. I see no difference.
 

Grady

Verified Member
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
491
Here's the rule...

Here's the rule...

It is remembered that a player owes a ball(s) and he has that ball to pay, it comes up after both guys shoot once. The purpose of this rule is to give both men notice that a ball is going to be put on the spot. I hope this helps.
 
Top