Ball Frozen to a Rail

Tennessee Joe6

Verified Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
372
Under the BCA Rules:
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching a rail at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns ...

Under the One Pocket. org rules:
8. Frozen balls
For a foul to result from failure to legally strike a rail after contacting a frozen ball, the ball in question must be inspected and designated as frozen prior to a player’s shot, otherwise the ball is not considered frozen. If the cue ball becomes wedged between an object ball and the cushion and frozen to both, then legal shot requirements must be met by pocketing the frozen ball, or by contacting either another ball or another cushion enroute to a legal shot. Failure to do so is a foul.


Is there a reason the OP rule is different from the BCA rule?
 

Cowboy Dennis

Suspended
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
11,123
Under the BCA Rules:
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching a rail at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns ...

Under the One Pocket. org rules:
8. Frozen balls
For a foul to result from failure to legally strike a rail after contacting a frozen ball, the ball in question must be inspected and designated as frozen prior to a player’s shot, otherwise the ball is not considered frozen. If the cue ball becomes wedged between an object ball and the cushion and frozen to both, then legal shot requirements must be met by pocketing the frozen ball, or by contacting either another ball or another cushion enroute to a legal shot. Failure to do so is a foul.


Is there a reason the OP rule is different from the BCA rule?
Joe,

I could be wrong but I think the BCA rule is referring to an "object ball".

The OnePocket.org rule where you highlighted it is referring to a cueball being frozen to a rail and also to a ball.

Maybe this situation. The cueball is frozen to the rail and to the 3 ball. If you shoot a full masse and shoot the 3 into the other balls and nothing hits a rail but the cueball comes back to the rail it seems that it is a foul:confused:. I'm guessing this is a tournament rule.

According to the BCA rule that you posted it would seem this would be a "good shot" and no foul unless there is another BCA rule that covers the "cueball" in this same situation.

Cueball Frozen.jpg
 
Top