Another rules question

J.R.

Verified Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
391
I do not see this thread as being about what players should do to make their opponents more comfortable and want to continue playing with them.

The thread is about what should happen, according to the rules, when a player purposefully stops a moving cueball during a game of one pocket.

What if in the middle of a game a player grabbed a moving cueball? Whatever you think should happen in that instance, is what should happen here in my estimation.
A miscue on the break is never a planned shot but when it happens the player will on occasion, for use of a better word, "unconsciously" reach out to stop the cue ball. This reflex action is from every players prehistoric days of learning to play pool. Did you ever do it?

To answer your question about a player grabbing a moving cue ball in the middle of the game I will begin with a question. Did you ever reach out to grab a cue ball going into a pocket on a scratch? Were you saving time or purposely stopping a moving cue ball during a game of one pocket?

Without further belaboring the purposeful touching of a cue ball on the break after a miscue it is necessary to be fair. If the "house rules," BCA rules, or any other written rules are agreed upon that you lose a game for grabbing a cue ball at any time during a game... then that's the rule. However, if your playing a money game and there is no agreed upon rule covering what to do if you miscue, and then purposely stop the movement of the cue ball, then its time to be fair. To me a fair resolve is the breaker is -1 point for the miscue (scratch shot) and additionally his opponent has ball in hand behind the head string for grabbing or misdirecting the cue ball after the miscue. Consequently, the opponent can break the balls toward his pocket (original breaker has already designated his pocket).
 

Dennis "Whitey" Young

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
1,663
JR, there are two primary rule bodies, WPA and BCAPL/CSI. Grabbing the ball after striking it on the break; WPA has it as an unsportsmanlike act referee discretion, and BCAPL has it as a deliberate foul resulting in the opponent having the option to break or let the breaker re-break.
Both ruling bodies have the game starting once the cb is struck.

But, this guy thinks a game does not start until the rack is contacted! Therein lies the problem, ignorance of the rules! Whitey
 

Island Drive

Verified Member
Joined
May 1, 2011
Messages
4,078
JR, there are two primary rule bodies, WPA and BCAPL/CSI. Grabbing the ball after striking it on the break; WPA has it as an unsportsmanlike act referee discretion, and BCAPL has it as a deliberate foul resulting in the opponent having the option to break or let the breaker re-break.
Both ruling bodies have the game starting once the cb is struck.

But, this guy thinks a game does not start until the rack is contacted! Therein lies the problem, ignorance of the rules! Whitey
FWIW....BCAPL created the rule in 8 ball, BIH on a break scratch.

This is a VENDOR Created rule, not a rule for the sport, and 8 ball is one of the great games. The game rule for EVER was, behind the line.

They did it to speed up the game and the coin drop.
 
Top