another rules question

lll

Verified Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
14,869
this came up
i called no foul
my opponent said foul
stating "the frozen rail is dead"....:frus
the 1 and cue are frozen to the rail
the 9 and one are not frozen
i came off the one
the one went into the rail into the 9 then back to the rail
neither the cue ball or 9 ball hit a rail
frozen balls rules.jpg

was it a legal shot???
 

Mkbtank

Verified Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
5,312
another rules question

Did the 1 get back to the rail? If so, good hit.
 

gulfportdoc

Verified Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,596
...

was it a legal shot???
You are correct. NO foul. Here is the WPA rule on the issue:

8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent.
 

LSJohn

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
7,772
this came up
i called no foul
my opponent said foul
stating "the frozen rail is dead"....:frus
the 1 and cue are frozen to the rail
the 9 and one are not frozen
i came off the one
the one went into the rail into the 9 then back to the rail
neither the cue ball or 9 ball hit a rail
View attachment 12434

was it a legal shot???
Of course.

Your op is mega-confused.
 

Jimmy B

Verified Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2007
Messages
5,108
Yea. He was trying to shuck ya. He should know better than that. Good shot. No foul...
 
Top