3c - Spotting Balls when Frozen?

Dennis "Whitey" Young

Verified Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2017
Messages
1,849
@ 5:50 I was in hopes a fabulous high reverse english shot of some sort would be played across the end rail. But no, a kick instead.
Then comes up the frozen situation. I was under the impression that when a ball is frozen to the cb then you are required to shoot away/no contact allowed, but here they spotted both balls.
Is this the common rule or a specific rule for this governing body? thanks, Whitey
 

lll

Verified Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
15,476
whitey
i believe you can play away from the frozen ball OR have them spotted
is standard rules
 

12squared

Verified Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2005
Messages
1,897
whitey
i believe you can play away from the frozen ball OR have them spotted
is standard rules
This is correct, Larry. I think in the past if your cue ball was frozen to another ball, it was mandatory to spot them, but I was away from the game for a long time so not sure, Bill would know. In the 70s if they were frozen it was a spot shot.
 
Top